Novel Accomplishments

I’ve only gone and bloomin’ done it!

Winner-180x180

I have just completed NanoWriMo, with a grand total of 51,182 words to my novel.

I was actually jumping about with excitement, and not without a little relief, after completing the last sentence to what has got to be my biggest writing achievement, ever.

This whole novel writing business has actually taught me a lot of things in the past 30 days:

  • Persistence
  • Commitment
  • Repeating the same routine day after day
  • Not giving up
  • Not listening to my inner critic
  • Writing even when I didn’t want to
  • Writing even after I made every excuse not to
  • Wanting to get to the finish line

No, it wasn’t easy and no I didn’t write every day (in fact by my count, there were a total of six days I didn’t write anything), but I knew that I wanted more than anything to get the 50,000 word count done, so on the days I couldn’t write, I made up for it on the days I could.

The novel will have loads of spelling mistakes, will be grammatically incorrect in many places and is probably the lamest story every written but I don’t care because it’s finished and it’s a novel.  Yes, novel sounds great!

4 responses to “Novel Accomplishments

  1. Pingback: I’m at the Writing Camp | The Forget-me-Not Cultivation Blog·

  2. Pingback: Screen Writing is Nigh | The Forget-me-Not Cultivation Blog·

  3. Pingback: To Write Creatively and Not to Publish? | The Forget-me-Not Cultivation Blog·

So, what do you think?

